- Course duration
- One semester
- Offering / effective year
- Course offering required in 2027–28
- First graduating class
- 2030–31
Course requirements
States requiring a stand-alone personal finance course.
See which states require students to take personal finance as its own course.
Stand-alone course requirements
- Alabama: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Alaska: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Arizona: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Arkansas: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- California: verified stand-alone course requirement
- Colorado: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Connecticut: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Delaware: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Florida: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Georgia: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Hawaii: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Idaho: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Illinois: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Indiana: verified stand-alone course requirement
- Iowa: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Kansas: verified stand-alone course requirement
- Kentucky: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Louisiana: verified stand-alone course requirement
- Maine: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Maryland: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Massachusetts: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Michigan: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Minnesota: verified stand-alone course requirement
- Mississippi: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Missouri: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Montana: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Nebraska: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Nevada: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- New Hampshire: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- New Jersey: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- New Mexico: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- New York: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- North Carolina: verified stand-alone course requirement
- North Dakota: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Ohio: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Oklahoma: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Oregon: verified stand-alone course requirement
- Pennsylvania: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Rhode Island: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- South Carolina: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- South Dakota: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Tennessee: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Texas: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Utah: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Vermont: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Virginia: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Washington: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- West Virginia: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Wisconsin: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- Wyoming: no verified stand-alone course mandate
- District of Columbia: no verified stand-alone course mandate
Stand-alone course requiredNo verified stand-alone mandate
Select any state to view its profile.
States that require a stand-alone personal finance course
See which states require students to complete a dedicated personal finance course, including course length, effective dates, and the graduating classes covered.
- Course duration
- 1 Indiana credit in an approved personal finance course; the Class of 2028 may alternatively complete a two-course, two-credit finance pathway
- Offering / effective year
- Class of 2028 first; redesigned diploma applies statewide beginning with the Class of 2029
- First graduating class
- 2028
- Course duration
- 0.5 unit
- Offering / effective year
- Not specified
- First graduating class
- 2028
- Course duration
- 1 unit of Financial Literacy
- Offering / effective year
- 2024-25 entering grade-9 cohort
- First graduating class
- Not specified
- Course duration
- Course for locally determined credit; no statewide credit amount
- Offering / effective year
- 2024-25 entering grade-nine cohort
- First graduating class
- Not specified
- Course duration
- 1 credit
- Offering / effective year
- Students entering grade 9 in 2020-21; continued for later cohorts by State Board graduation policy
- First graduating class
- Not specified
- Course duration
- 0.5 credit in Personal Financial Education within the 24-credit diploma minimum
- Offering / effective year
- 2026-27
- First graduating class
- 2027






